Add, remove, or change a trusted location

You should use a trusted location to store a file when you don't want that file to be checked by the Trust Center, or if you don't want it to open in Protected View. This applies particularly to files with macros, data connections, ActiveX controls (what we call active content). If you think the active content in a file is from a reliable source, it’s better to move the file to a trusted location, instead of changing the default Trust Center settings to a less-safe macro security setting.

Trusted Locations area of Trust Center

Add a trusted location

  1. Click File > Options.
  2. Click Trust Center > Trust Center Settings > Trusted Locations.
  3. Click Add new location.
  4. Click Browse to find the folder, select a folder, and then click OK.

Remove a trusted location

  1. Click File > Options.
  2. Click Trust Center > Trust Center Settings > Trusted Locations.
  3. Select the location to be removed, and then click Remove, and then click OK.

Change a trusted location

  1. Click File > Options.
  2. Click Trust Center > Trust Center Settings > Trusted Locations.
  3. In the Trusted Locations list, select a location, and then click Modify.
  4. Make the modifications you want, and then click OK.
 
 
Applies to:
Access 2013, Excel 2013, PowerPoint 2013, Visio 2013, Visio Professional 2013, Word 2013, Access 2010, Excel 2010, PowerPoint 2010, Visio 2010, Word 2010